MonaLisa.com Domain Name Sells for $200,000

MonaLisa.com domain name sells for $200,000.

Mona LisaThe Mona Lisa has been sold!

OK, so it’s actually MonaLisa.com.

According to Sedo’s market activity report, it has sold the domain name MonaLisa.com for $200,000:

The domain name is currently pending transfer and is in Sedo’s brokerage account. The seller is California-based NetCorp.

This is a big sale for Sedo, given the dearth of six-figure sales coming out of the brokerage recently. Of course, it is getting rights to sell the Sex.com domain name. Something tells me that one will attract some press.

No related posts.

Tags: ,


Comments

  1. eTraveler
    May 21st, 2010 | 11:06 am

    That domain was NAMEWINNER.com was purchased for about 20k at that time. I am looking at my history and will see if i can find it. 7 years ago is long time to find stuff, though at that time it was a HUGE amount for a dropped domain.

  2. May 21st, 2010 | 11:12 am

    Ah, NameWinner. Those were the days.

  3. not invited to party
    May 21st, 2010 | 11:36 am

    $ 20K to $ 220K (net $ 200K)in 7 yrs is not a bad return on investment.

    But, when you take into consideration the speculative nature of domains, it is better than many other speculative investments (gold, real estate, startups, etc ).

  4. tricolorro (aka Patrick , aka The Other Patrick)
    May 21st, 2010 | 11:58 am

    “The Mona Lisa has been sold!

    OK, so it’s actually MonaLisa.com. ”

    Andrew,

    The domain that sold is actually a forgery of the real MonaLisa.com.

    It’s a professional job so only a domain expert can tell them apart.

    Info at: Domain-Forgery.com

  5. tricolorro (aka Patrick , aka The Other Patrick)
    May 21st, 2010 | 11:58 am

    Sorry for my playfulness.

    I was getting an early start on next year’s April Fools day.

  6. May 21st, 2010 | 12:19 pm

    wow, i remember that auction but I thought it went for $5,001. i gues my memory isnt as good as it once was.

  7. not invited to party
    May 21st, 2010 | 1:19 pm

    Larry who?
    My memory too.

  8. Greg
    May 21st, 2010 | 10:46 pm

    hope they hold the TM. Watch out for some reverse hijacking….

Leave a reply


Your comment will be deleted if: you use an invalid email address, you use a URL shortener for your web site link, your website link goes to a parked domain name, or your "name" is an advertisement keyword.


TOP