iPhone4Settlement.com typo already squatted on

Soon-to-be-busy web site already attracting cybersquatters.

25 million people will soon be sent an email telling them to go to iPhone4Settlement.com. And someone has already typosquatted it.

iPhone4Settlement.com is the URL selected by Kurtzman Carson Consultants to manage the claims process for a proposed settlement with Apple over antennae problems when it released the iPhone 4. The web address has been featured in countless mainstream articles over the past 24 hours.

Kurtzman Carson Consultants registered the domain on February 15. Today someone registered wwwiPhone4Settlement.com (missing a dot after the www). It resolves to a server holding page for now. Although the whois record is protected by privacy, it shows a registrant of “SK Communications”.

iPhone4Settlement.com hasn’t even gone live yet, but it will get a ton of traffic when the process starts. I bet the typo gets quite a bit, too.

No related posts.


Comments

  1. steve
    February 21st, 2012 | 6:47 pm

    I remember helping someone find the www with no dot domains for a while. And he must have made good money cause he was so cheerful. But he never gave me a dime..
    Yea I should have registered them myself, but I’m glad he got something good since he had cruddy domains not worth owning.

    Apple should file a udrp tomorrow on this guy.

  2. February 21st, 2012 | 7:13 pm

    I see iphonesettlement.com was registered quickly too. I imagine that will get a lot of typo traffic as well

  3. February 21st, 2012 | 9:09 pm

    I wonder if it would be Apple or the settlement administrator who would file? I guess Apple has the trademark.

    Then again, if fewer people find their way to the actual site and submit their claim then Apple doesn’t have to pay as much :)

  4. February 24th, 2012 | 6:41 pm

    Speak turkish iPhone 4 um var her yerde cekmiyor

  5. salih
    February 25th, 2012 | 9:35 am

    iphone 4 telefonum var bunda çekimle alakalı problem varmış bunun giderilmesini yapmazı rica ederim

Leave a reply


Your comment will be deleted if: you use an invalid email address, you use a URL shortener for your web site link, your website link goes to a parked domain name, or your "name" is an advertisement keyword.


TOP