It’s Raining, It’s Pouring, Rain.com Comes Under Attack

Rain.com enters arbitration.

If it seems like it has been raining frivolous domain arbitration disputes lately, then this should catch your eye: someone has filed to get the domain name Rain.com.

You read that correctly — Rain.com.

The case was filed Tuesday at National Arbitration Forum. Unlike WIPO, National Arbitration Forum doesn’t list the name of the complainant until a decision has been rendered.

But we know plenty about the domain owner, hosting company Verio. Verio purchased RAINet, Inc. in 1996. With that acquisition came the domain name Rain.com, which was originally registered way back in 1990. Rain.com currently shows a Verio landing page.

Unless someone knows something I don’t, then the identity of the complainant will remain a mystery for another month or two. There are plenty of trademarks for the term “rain”, but this isn’t one I’m willing to guess about.

Further Reading:

  1. Arbitrator Rains on Media Rain’s Parade
  2. Single digit .co.uk domains under attack

Tags: , ,


Comments

  1. Johnny
    August 19th, 2009 | 9:11 am

    You know what really is even a whole lot more ridiculous than this UDRP?

    It is the National Arbitration Forum allowing this case to proceed to UDRP. The NAF needs a good fat lawsuit against them for allowing these cases to go to UDRP just so they can make the fees. And, the more ridiculous cases they let through, all the more UDRP filings arise from the bastardized process , and the more money NAF makes from the free-for-all UDRP system where nothing is rejected from proceeding forward.

    I’m ready for a class action lawsuit against the National Arbitration Forum. I’m a victim of the NAF just like the owners of Rain.com.

    The NAF is a racket. It needs to be busted up in a nasty lawsuit.

  2. August 19th, 2009 | 9:13 am

    It?s Raining, It?s Pouring, Rain.com Comes Under Attack – http://tinyurl.com/m5ndnd

  3. Domain Investor
    August 19th, 2009 | 9:25 am

    There are over 1,000 live or applied for TMs containing the word – rain.

    I went to http://www.rain.com but could not imagine how Verio might be infringing on a TM.

    I didn’t check. Is there a TM for
    Rain on AOL.

    Maybe, it is AOL?
    :)

  4. August 19th, 2009 | 9:45 am

    It’s a typo for RAN.COM, obviously. ;)

  5. August 19th, 2009 | 11:09 am

    It’s a typo for my favorite TV network: RAI :)

  6. Zeus
    August 19th, 2009 | 12:12 pm

    I, Zeus, Greek Lord of the Sky and the God of Rain filed the suit.

    I figure if AOL can try, so can I.

    Now where did I leave my umbrella?

  7. August 19th, 2009 | 12:28 pm

    It would be helpful to have a list of egregious ‘domain hijacking’ cases, it might even assist in policy development at ICANN. Does such a list exist somewhere?

  8. Domain Investor
    August 19th, 2009 | 12:29 pm

    I figured it out. Since, the buzz word in the server business is “cloud”.
    http://www.hostingcon.com/2009/sessions/

    Maybe, by pointing rain.com towards Verio’s site displaying servers, it is infringing on a “cloud” TM.
    ???

    I guess whomever owns lightning.com, sunny.com, hail.com and snow.com better look out.

  9. August 19th, 2009 | 4:00 pm

    @ Mike Rodenbaugh,

    UDRPsearch.com has functionality to flag RDNH and “Worst” cases. We’d just need to get a bunch of people to participate.

  10. August 19th, 2009 | 4:35 pm

    @ Mike Rodenbaugh,

    Perhaps it would be worth considering a process of appeal where respondents whom had initially lost could pay a UDRP fee and have the decision reviewed by different panelist in order to remove any doubt or perception of individual panelist bias without the cost of having to challenge in a court of law, which may prove prohibitive for some respondents.

  11. drago
    August 19th, 2009 | 6:49 pm

    it could be the korean band Rain, they are pretty famous in asia !!

  12. October 1st, 2009 | 9:30 am

    [...] Rain.com was registered back in 1990, 18 years prior to Media Rain’s formation. Verio acquired the ISP that owned Rain.com in [...]

Leave a reply


Your comment will be deleted if: you use an invalid email address, you use a URL shortener for your web site link, your website link goes to a parked domain name, or your "name" is an advertisement keyword.


TOP