Guy files cybersquatting complaint against a page on Blogger

Apparently blogger.com followed by a bunch of numbers infringes this guy’s trademarks.

From the WTF category…

Nevada resident Steven Barket has filed a federal lawsuit against Google and a John Doe, claiming violations of the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act and Lanham Act.

The offending domain name that violates Barket’s trademarks?

blogger.com/profile/10034500688963114971

Yes, that’s a single page on the Blogger.com domain.

Barket demands a judgement ordering the transfer of the “domain”.

You’ll notice that the URL he’s claiming as cybersquatting doesn’t even include his name. I think what he’s really upset about is stevebarket.blogspot.com, which seems to be a blog saying bad things about Barket. It includes a few links to an inactive WordPress.com blog. But even that is a subdirectory of a domain, not a domain itself.

I can understand Barket wanting Google to remove the page, but I think his legal approach is misinformed.

Tags: , , ,


Comments

  1. June 15th, 2012 | 11:49 am

    Can w

  2. Steven Barket
    June 15th, 2012 | 12:23 pm

    Federal case # 2:12-cv-01009 I respect your view, however you should read the complaint.

    If you have any question please contact me. This is a classic case of a violation of the Anticybersquatting consumer protection act and the Lanham act.

    Through my attorney we contacted Google on several occasions and were given the run around. After several weeks and expense I chose to file the action.

    Google is a great company, but the rules are the rules

  3. June 15th, 2012 | 12:32 pm

    @ Steven Barket – I read the case before writing the story.

    The “domain name” you list doesn’t even have your trademark in it.

    Now it’s possible this approach will result in Google removing the content, but they can’t “transfer” the “domain name” to you.

  4. June 15th, 2012 | 4:37 pm
  5. June 15th, 2012 | 4:54 pm

    Right, so unless Mr. Barket takes issue with the domain name Blogger.com, this is the wrong law to cite.

  6. June 15th, 2012 | 5:02 pm

    Is he trying to say that Google “registers” domains like example.blogger.com?

  7. June 15th, 2012 | 5:09 pm

    @ help – I don’t think so. But even in that case, the specific URL cited in the suit doesn’t even contain his name — it’s just basically blogger.com and then some numbers.

    His claim is about the content of a particular page, not the domain name.

  8. June 15th, 2012 | 7:09 pm

    Well, if he wants to spend money on a realistically misguided approach, that’s his choice. It’s a shame he’ll have to learn that the hard way when he doesn’t have to.

    If he got a lawyer for this one, he ought to change lawyers and find another opinion from someone with real-world experience on this. Fast.

  9. Robert
    June 20th, 2012 | 7:13 pm

    OMG…he’s at it again. Want to see what a manic Steve Barket is? Just Google his name to discover the massive amounts of sites he has published against people. . The reason he

  10. June 21st, 2012 | 12:48 am

    To Robert who posted on June 20th 2012… I proudly state my real name. It sounds like Richie to me. Please look at this site for the story about Las Vegas review Journal reporter John L. Smith http://johnlsmithlibel.com/.
    If your going to tell a story don

  11. Robert
    June 22nd, 2012 | 5:32 pm

    Hey Barket! What does Tom having John on speedial, John getting a DUI or filing for bankruptcy have ANYTHING to do with you lying, cheating and an stealing peoples money. Why do you feel you have to make THEM look bad when it is YOU who

Leave a reply


Your comment will be deleted if: you use an invalid email address, you use a URL shortener for your web site link, your website link goes to a parked domain name, or your "name" is an advertisement keyword.


TOP