Archive for December, 2011


Even CSC doesn’t enforce whois accuracy

Two months later Cocomo.com still has bogus whois information.

You would think that a brand management intellectual property company would enforce whois accuracy on its customers. But apparently not.

Two months ago I wrote about the sale of Cocomo.com for $33,000. The domain name had just been transferred to CSC (Corporation Service Company) with obviously bogus whois information:

I submitted a whois inaccuracy report to ICANN. I assumed the registrant information would be quickly updated. After all, we are talking about a brand protection company here. If a brand management company gets an email from ICANN saying one of their customers has false whois information, you’d think they’d act. But today I received an update notice asking me if the whois record had been updated.

It has not. The domain name is still registered to a Ms. Sue D Nym on Main Street in Anywhere, IL.

[Update: as John points out, the whois has been updated as of 12/16/11]



191 domain .co auction ends today

No reserve auction attracting lots of bidding attention.

An auction of nearly 200 keyword .co domain names ends today at Sedo.

With just two hours to go over 60% of the domain names in the no reserve auction already have bids.

31 bids have been place for Safe.co, driving the price up to $2,800. Finder.co and Wear.co are each at $1,050. The Spanish language Horoscopo.co, which comes with a web site, has been bid up to EUR 1,050.

Some of my favorites in the auction are Fax.co, equity.co, lawsuit.co, and equity.co. Juan.co is also getting attention; perhaps .Co Internet founder Juan Diego Calle should pick it up.

Here are my favorite domains that have yet to receive a bid: PeanutButter.co, Jasmine.co, and Persian.co.



Google doesn’t think YouTube.ae is a tube trading marketplace

Company files complaint against site that says it’s for “tube trading”.

YouTube.aeGoogle has filed a complaint with World Intellectual Property Organization in an attempt to get the domain name YouTube.ae. .Ae is the country code for United Arab Emirates.

YouTube.ae is either a legitimate business or a clever scheme to hide the true intentions of the domain’s owner.

The site says YouTube (they capitalize it YOUTUBe) is the “leading portal of tube trading”.

A copyright notice on the bottom of the home page reads “Copyright © YOUTUBe Market Place 1997-2007″. If you click on a different page you’ll see a 2011 copyright notice.

Screenshots.com shows a similar home page in 2009 but with a 2007 end copyright notice. .Ae doesn’t publish registration dates in whois, but DomainTools has historical whois records back to 2007.

The “about” section reads:

YOUTUBe is a leading portal on tubes trading – a platform, establishing direct connections between tubes & pipes traders, suppliers and customers, offering not only directory type of services – available to all Yellow Pages and Internet users, but allowing purchase and sale managers communicate with each other directly without spending weeks waiting for call-backs and replies to requests sent to feedback emails. Apart from that, YOUTUBe staff is always ready to source and negotiate best deals for you.

There’s also a news section, but clicking on any of the news articles brings you to a login page.

What do you think – legitimate business or clever coverup?



Major League Baseball and Current TV buy domain names

A look at end user domain name sales from the past week.

My list of end user domain purchases for the week is a little bit shorter than usual, but contains big names including Major League Baseball. All sales were at Afternic unless otherwise noted.

Major League Baseball bought Justice4U.com for $3,000. MLB.com Executive Correspondent Richard Justice writes a blog at Justice4U.mlb.com.

Al Gore’s Current TV bought PoliticallyDirect.com for $4,488. The network has a “Politically Direct 2012″ special.

Eagle Beverage Products upgraded its domain from eagle-beverage.com to eaglebeverage.com for $1,688.

Chauffeured transportation company Celebrity, which owns CelebrityLimo.com, bought CelebrityMotorCoach.com for $1,100 through Sedo.

The London art gallery that owns Union-Gallery.com upgraded to UnionGallery.com for $1,000.

Audubon Engineering shortened its URL from audubon-engineering.com to Audubon.net for $4,000. Audubon.com is owned by the National Audubon Society.



Macy’s sues company trying to restore its legacy brands

Company tries to revive old brands such as Bullock’s and The Broadway.

File this one under “did you think to ask a lawyer about this first?”

Department store company Macy’s has filed a federal lawsuit (pdf) against a company that’s trying to bring back Macy’s legacy brands.

The company, Strategic Marks, LLC, has filed trademark applications for some of Macy’s brands such as May Company and Robinson’s, and set up shop on the web at RetroDepartmentStores.com.

According to the web site, the company plan to “bring back nine of the great department stores of the 20th century: Joseph Magnin, Bullock’s, May, Robinson’s May, Jordan Marsh, Filene’s, The Broadway, The Bon Marche, and Abraham & Strauss, and re-build and restore these well-loved brands.”

It’s starting with an online store — complete with the actual logos these stores used in the past — and hopes to open physical stores as well.

“We’re thrilled to be able to bring back a little part of Americana home so watch this space for more updates!” the site says.

I think watching this space for lawsuits will be more interesting.


« Previous PageNext Page »


TOP