Archive for November, 2011


Televangelist Kenneth Copeland loses fight against criticism site

Arbitration panel determines KennethCopelandBlog.com can remain with current owner.

Televangelist Kenneth Copeland has lost a domain name dispute with KennethCopelandBlog.com, a criticism site.

Kenneth Copeland is a televangelist who preaches the so-called prosperity gospel. The message is that the more money people give to the church, the more they’ll get out of God. (A beautiful business model if you ask me.)

The critical site is maintained Rich Vermillion, who used to work with Kenneth Copeland Ministries. He’s asking the Copelands to repent.

The panelist in the case ruled that Vermillion has rights or legitimate interests in the domain name because he’s using it for criticism and not for personal profit.

This case has given me an idea for a new business model: you can now donate to Domain Name Wire. The more money you donate, I promise the more money you’ll start earning from your domain portfolio.



Affiliate marketing propels growth at Sedo

Affiliate marketing grows while domain business stagnates.

Sedo Holding, parent company of domain name marketplace and parking company Sedo, reported growth in Q3 compared to the same quarter in 2011. The growth was driven by the company’s affilinet affiliate marketing business.

Q3 sales were EUR 29.1M compared to EUR 27.3M in the same quarter last year.

For the first nine months of the year sales in the affiliate marketing division increased 20.7% compared to the same period in 2010, coming in at EUR 62.5M.

Sales in the first nine months for the Sedo division dropped 8.1% from EUR 32.0M to EUR 29.4M. The company says domain brokerage remains strong while domain parking continues to face headwinds. The company continues to cull its own domain name portfolio to reduce the number of unprofitable domains.

So far this year Sedo says it has focused on its SedoMLS system and is placing emphasis no “buy now” domain names sales.

You can view Sedo’s complete Q3 report here.



Jelly Belly and Original Gourmet Foods not being so sweet

Companies head to court over “original gourmet” name.

jelly bellyThis trademark dispute has little to do with domain names but does involve my favorite candy company, Jelly Belly.

Original Gourmet Food Company, Inc., has filed a dispute (pdf) in U.S. District Court for declaratory judgment over the “original gourmet” name.

The food fight started when Original Gourmet tried to extend the use of its “Original Gourmet” name to cookies with a trademark filing. Jelly Belly filed a 30 day request for extension of time with the United States Patent and Trademark Office to oppose Original Gourmet’s trademark application.

(Jelly Belly calls its jelly beans “the original gourmet jelly bean”.)

Jelly Belly followed up with a cease & desist letter. Both sides’ attorneys went back and forth, and then Original Gourmet figured it would get ahead of the issue and file the request for declaratory judgment before it was sued.

Often times domain name owners will file a similar complaint with a court after losing a UDRP case to request a court to say it has rights to continue using the name.

I toured the Jelly Belly factory in California a couple years ago with my daughter. I was a kid in a candy shop (literally).



Kudos to this UDRP panelist for giving it thought

Panelist considers omissions in complaint, including mention that trademark filing is for a design mark.

I’m amazed at how many UDRP panelists don’t examine the complainant’s statements and take everything at face value.

So kudos to World Intellectual Property Organization panelist Wolter Wefers Bettink, who just decided for the respondent in a case over myswisschoclate.com.

The panelist called the complainant out for not providing relevant facts. It’s worth reading his comments verbatim:

Initially, this seemed to this Panel to be a simple and straightforward case of abusive domain name registration, the Respondent having registered the Domain Name well after the registration of the Trademarks, redirecting it to its own website under a different domain name, where it sells competing products and not having responded to letters of summons from Complainant, nor having filed a response and apparently having another, similar domain name transferred to a third party after receiving a letter of summons from Complainant.

Upon scrutiny of the evidence submitted by Complainant, the case became less clear. First, Complainant in the Complaint did not mention that the Trademarks are design marks, consisting of a brown background, with a design consisting of the words “my swiss chocolate ch” in different font sizes, next to a square design (seemingly part of a chocolate tablet), a small white cross (somewhat similar to the one appearing in the Swiss national flag), with a swirl encircling the design and looping around as an underline for the word “chocolate”.

Second, Complainant failed to disclose in the Complaint that the U.S. registration was granted with the disclaimer “No claim is made to the exclusive right to use ‘Swiss chocolate.ch’, apart from the mark as shown”.

Third, Complainant asserts in the Complaint that it has a Community trademark, but provides only an international trademark registration designating the European Union. Therefore, there is no evidence that Complainant is the owner of a Community trademark to “my swiss chocolate.ch”.

Both facts are extremely relevant, both for the finding whether the Domain Name and the Trademarks are confusingly similar and for the findings in relation to rights or legitimate interests and registration and use in bad faith.

In the view of this Panel, deliberately omitting essential facts from the Complaint does not help the case of a Complainant, since it raises the suspicion that the Complainant is trying to “cover up” facts which are unfavorable to its case. Such behavior may in itself be sufficient for a panel to deny the Complaint. After all, when filing a Complaint, the Complainant has to subscribe to the following clause which is part of the model Complaint: “The Complainant certifies that the information contained in this Complaint is to the best of the Complainant’s knowledge complete and accurate, that this Complaint is not being presented for any improper purpose, such as to harass, and that the assertions in this Complaint are warranted under the Rules and under applicable law, as it now exists or as it may be extended by a good-faith and reasonable argument.”

Furthermore, Panelists have to do their work in a limited timeframe where, especially in a case like this one where no response is filed, they have to rely on the statements in the Complaint and the evidence provided by Complainant. If Complainant tries to mislead the Panelist as to essential facts, he cannot expect the Panel to decide in his favor.

In the end, he decides that it wasn’t a deliberate attempt to mislead the panel. But his through process — and that he took time to think about the case — should be commended.



SAP Continues to Struggle with UDRP

Company has lost 5 of last 15 decided cases.

Software giant SAP continues to struggle with its efforts to corral domain names through the UDRP Process.

Although it has won two thirds of its cases, as far as big complainants go SAP may as well have a failing record.

Sure, it wins most of the UDRP cases it files. But it loses more than most complainants.

The latest loss: SAPApps.com.

What makes this case (and some of the other losses) interesting is that the respondent was an SAP Partner. Respondent CoreSystems AG is an SAP Gold Partner.

Other recent losses by SAP include SAP-Microsoft.com, Unisap.com, Graphicsap.com, and sapresourcesgroup.com.

Of the 15 cases the company has filed beginning in 2009 that have been decided, it has lost a shocking 5 complaints. This is a very poor record for a complainant.


« Previous PageNext Page »


TOP