Go Daddy Sued for Sending Domain Renewal Notices

Does sending renewal reminders violate patents?

This isn’t meant to be a shock headline. It’s true.

WhitServe LLC has filed a patent infringement lawsuit (pdf) against GoDaddy.com based on the renewal notices it sends to customers. WhitServe says the method by which Go Daddy sends these notices and allows customers to renew their expiring domain names violates two of its patents:

-US Patent 5,895,468 for System Automating Delivery Of Professional Services

-US Patent 6,182,078 for System For Delivering Professional Services Over The Internet

WhitServe has sued numerous other companies over the same patents.

While Go Daddy itself has filed a number of patents that may seem a bit questionable, I’m not aware of any time it has tried to enforce them — except against a company that had sued it over other patents.

By the way, I own PatentTroll.com and PatentTrolls.com.

Tags: ,


Comments

  1. June 15th, 2011 | 10:28 am

    Someone should be suing Domain Registry Of Canada. They send out mail to other registrar customers with renewal prices high as $50-60. I got 5 mail from them so far.

  2. Larry
    June 15th, 2011 | 12:33 pm

    Bob Parson seems like the type of person who will fight this no matter how nominal the licensing fee being requested is. The fact that other large companies have licensed the patents doesn’t mean much as they might have just weighed the cost vs. legal fees. etc.

    As far as droc/droa they have been cited as follows:

    http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2003/12/domainreg.shtm

  3. June 15th, 2011 | 2:34 pm

    Intellectual property lawyers have made similar complaints about the aggressive enforcement of trademarks.

  4. June 15th, 2011 | 8:00 pm

    BTW, I will sell you CopyrightTroll.com to add to your fine collection. :)

  5. June 15th, 2011 | 8:03 pm

    Jorge, I think Righthaven is your buyer :)

  6. John UK
    August 10th, 2012 | 9:10 am

    I have just managed to Patent “Breathing Oxygen using an organ contained in my body” . Please everyone,refrain from ……erm breathing.

Leave a reply


Your comment will be deleted if: you use an invalid email address, you use a URL shortener for your web site link, your website link goes to a parked domain name, or your "name" is an advertisement keyword.


TOP