Archive for May, 2011


A New VeriSign Slogan?

Company files two trademark applications.

It looks like VeriSign might be working on a new slogan for its business.

The company just filed two “intent to use” trademark applications for its domain name business:

Connecting the World Between the Dots and The World Is Connecting Between the Dots.

They’re both clever slogans and I’m guessing they haven’t chosen which one to go with.

Of course as a domain person I wonder which dots are being connected. When I think of a domain name I think of one dot. So between the dots? Still, I guess I “get” it with regards to the DNS.

The applications were filed May 13.



DancePartner.com Fails to Find Dance Partner in UDRP

Company asks panel for domain registered in 1999 based on a generic mark it first used in commerce in 2003.

The owner of DancePartner.com has failed to find a dancing mate in DancePartners.com through a UDRP.

DancePartner.com owner Dancesoft filed the complaint on the basis of a trademark it filed in 2003, many years after the respondent’s 1999 registration of the DancePartners.com domain name.

Beyond the fact that DancePartners.com is perfectly generic and can be used by anyone, there were some other problems with Dancesoft’s case. In fact, based on the panelist’s write-up it appears it tried to mislead the panel.

The decision states that the complainant says it registered the domain name DancePartner.com in 1998. According to historical whois records, it was not the original registrant of the domain name in 1998. It obtained the domain name sometime later, and the trademark application Dancesoft filed said the DancePartner.com mark wasn’t used in commerce until 2003.

In fact, founder Ken Greer’s former software company page says he founded Dancesoft on January 1, 2003.

That’s misleading at best.

The respondent may not have been aware of the registration date discrepancy, as it was not mentioned in the decision.

Also, it appears Dancesoft left out some important parts of the story, at least based on the panelist’s writing.

Dancesoft says it communicated with the respondent about the domain in 2010 to resolve the trademark issue. But apparently it didn’t mention that it first corresponded with the owner back in 2004, when it “sent a letter suggesting he had no right to retain ownership of the Domain Name based upon the trademark Complainant had just obtained.”

After responding to the initial letter, the domain owner didn’t hear back for many years and assumed the matter was closed. If there’s ever an argument for considering laches in a domain dispute, this would be it.

There are many other parts of this case that should have led the panel to at least considered finding reverse domain name hijacking. You can read the full decision here.

The panel found that the owner, who used the site off and on for his dance-related ventures, had rights or legitimate interests in the domain and didn’t register it in bad faith.

In case you’re wondering about the financials, Dancesoft offered to pay the “generous amount” of $1,000 for the domain name in 2009. After asking for $25,000, the respondent later lowered his price to $7,000.

My guess is it will cost Dancesoft a lot more than $7,000 if it wishes to buy the domain name now.



.Co Scores Another Big Win With Amazon.com

Registry sells four premium domains to giant etailer.

Amazon.com has purchased a.com, z.co, k.co, and cloud.co from the .co registry, TechCrunch reported this evening.

.Co Internet has previously sold other one letter domain names, including o.co (sold to Overstock for $350,000) and e.co (auctioned off for $81,000 in a charity auction).

Other allocated one letter domains include t.co for twitter and x.co for Go Daddy.

I wouldn’t be surprised if Amazon uses a.co as a link shortener itself.

Most interesting to me is cloud.co. Would Amazon actually brand a service as cloud.co? Or was this a throw in?

This will be interesting to watch. Whether you love it or hate it, you have to admit .Co has trumped all other recent TLD launches for creating buzz and getting big name buy in.



“Cooking Games” in Spanish Sells for $90,000 on Sedo

Spanish domain name is top sale for the week at domain broker.

Domain broker Sedo didn’t turn in any six figure sales this week, but they still have some good ones worth mentioning.

First, they sold juegosdecocina.com — which means “cooking games” in Spanish — for a nice $90,000. Last year CookingGames.com sold for $350,000.

Just behind that was the three letter domain ese.com for $85,000.

Solar Power company Cleanergy.com paid a hefty $50,000 to upgrade its domain name from CleanergyIndustries.com. That was a nice payday for the seller.

And market.de sold for a nice 30,000 EUR.

Not a bad week for domain sales at Sedo.

Here are other notable sales for the week.

.com
sava.com 21275 USD
automatch.com 15000 USD
delegates.com 15000 USD (didn’t this sell for $16k at a Moniker auction?)
businessfinancing.com 14600 USD
nukeshare.com 12500 USD
vanillaextract.com 12000 USD
asklive.com 10500 USD
prescriptionsunglasses.com 10099 USD
timebook.com 10000 USD
sett.com 6750 USD
360pr.com 6600 USD
gamehead.com 6500 USD
go-on.com 6200 USD
bmz.com 6200 USD
unionbet.com 6000 EUR
lisablue.com 6000 USD
travo.com 6000 USD

ccTLDs
cocinas.es 17000 EUR
pari.fr 13500 EUR
creative.co.uk 13000 GBP
fliese.de 9900 EUR
zeitungsdruck.de 8700 EUR
tempo.pt 8500 EUR
cheat-lexikon.de 5000 EUR
investcafe.com 6000 USD
cloudmeter.com 5000 USD
onlinespoker.com 5000 USD
financeplus.com 5000 USD

Other
gadgets.net 11500 EUR
hemp.info 6000 EUR
sardinien.net 5800 EUR
fbk.net 5555 USD
madison.net 4501 USD



Peruvian Broadcaster Loses Case for RPP.com

Broadcast company can’t have three letter domain name, panel rules.

Peru broadcast company GRUPORPP S.A., which has an online news portal at rpp.com.pe, has lost an arbitration case in which it fought for the domain name RPP.com.

According to the panel decision the company managed to get a trademark for RPP.com in Peru back in 2001, which is quite scary given that it didn’t own the domain name.

Although the company has been around since 1963, it didn’t say whether or not it was using the mark rpp.com back in 1996 when the domain name was registered. The panel inferred that it hadn’t used it until 2001 when it filed for the mark since it was provided with no evidence of use.

With that in mind, the panel determined that the domain name wasn’t registered in bad faith since it was registered prior to the first known use of the trademark.

However, the complainant may have made a mistake here. Although the domain was registered in 1996, the current registrant didn’t get the domain name until after the RPP.com mark was registered in 2001. So the complainant should have argued the domain was registered after the mark was. (I still believe this is a bogus filing and the respondent should have won. I’m just pointing out an error by the complainant.)


« Previous PageNext Page »


TOP