Facebook Files Trademark Lawsuit Against FriendFinder

Facebook files trademark lawsuit against owner of FriendFinder.

Facebook, Inc. has filed a lawsuit against Various, Inc., parent company of FriendFinder, along with a couple related companies and John Does. The case was filed in U.S. District Court, Northern District of Califonia on Wednesday.

The entire complaint hasn’t been posted online, but it involves Various, Inc’s trademarks for FriendFinder and AdultFriendFinder.

I know that Facebook has called its tool for finding new friends on Facebook “Friend Finder” in the past, although I don’t see much branding for that now. It’s not clear if this action is related to that.

I’ll post more details when the court posts the actual complaint.

Further Reading:

  1. Facebook Files Massive Cybersquatting Lawsuit
  2. Domain Tools files preemptive lawsuit over copyright claims and its trademark
  3. Facebook Recovers 14 Typo Domains That Were in Lawsuit


Comments

  1. April 15th, 2011 | 1:39 pm

    Shouldn’t AFF be suing Facebook? They’ve been around much longer. This doesn’t make a lick of sense.

  2. April 15th, 2011 | 2:20 pm

    @ Rick Latona – the complaint still hasn’t been posted, but my understanding is that this might be some sort of defensive move after AFF threatened Facebook.

  3. April 15th, 2011 | 2:59 pm

    So did the bailiff deliver this news?

  4. Osbama
    April 15th, 2011 | 3:00 pm

    “FriendFinder , Facebook in Legal Tussle Over FacebookOfSex”

  5. Levi
    April 15th, 2011 | 3:41 pm

    Yeah it probably is over facebookofsex.com that they bought off of tdnam a few years ago for 12k. AFF and penthouse actively go after people who have domains with there tm in them. Looks like they are finally getting a taste of there own medicine.

  6. Domainer Extraordinaire
    April 15th, 2011 | 8:23 pm

    Andrew are you going to cover the biggest domain name story of the year?

    The poker world was shaken Friday as the owners of the three largest online poker sites — PokerStars, Full Tilt Poker and Absolute Poker — were charged with bank fraud, illegal gambling offenses and money laundering.

    Check out their sites now.

  7. John
    April 15th, 2011 | 9:34 pm

    Lol, you sure know your AFF facts Mr. Rick Latona, maybe your one of the orignal fans of the site, lol, divesting domain assets, after failure of aeiou whatever, traffic auctions, watch nonsense, auction nonsense, why don’t you just go away!

Leave a reply


Your comment will be deleted if: you use an invalid email address, you use a URL shortener for your web site link, your website link goes to a parked domain name, or your "name" is an advertisement keyword.


TOP