FMA Wins Domain Dispute for VEDA.com and It’s a Wild One
Tuesday, November 30th, 2010
Domain goes through UDRP for a second time.
Future Media Architects (FMA) has won another UDRP, this time for the generic four character domain name Veda.com. That FMA won is not a surprise, but the history of this domain name and some of the complainant’s accusations make this case more interesting.
Complainant VEDA GmbH actually won a UDRP for Veda.com back in 2003. But it failed to take ownership of the domain name after it won and FMA bought the domain name instead. VEDA GmbH claims that a former employee made a mistake on the transfer. Yet it waited a stunning seven years before deciding to try to rectify this.
Then, instead of contacting FMA about the matter, it simply filed a UDRP. After FMA called the complainant out on this, the complainant explained:
Complainant did not contact Respondent, because information on the Internet made it clear that Respondent is not a legitimate business entity but merely a commercial domain-grabber who would never have willingly transferred the domain name.
VEDA GmbH, an IT company, said that FMA was trying to take business from it by forwarding Veda.com to FMA.com, where FMA allegedly offers web development services. Of course FMA doesn’t actually offer web development services to anyone — FMA has plenty of money and wouldn’t bother developing web sites for other people. The “Web Development” tab on its web site merely shows domain names it has developed.
The complainant then took a jab at FMA’s developed web sites, calling them Potemkin villages.
Ultimately the panel found the domain name wasn’t registered and used in bad faith.














