Archive for June, 2010


China Puts Domain Registrars in Tough Spot, Again

CNNIC reverses role of registry and registrar, and communicates poorly to boot.

[Update 7/1: Go Daddy is sending out an email to its .cn customers today, which also links to CNNIC's notice.] Imagine if VeriSign sent an email to the all .com registrants asking them to click a link to verify they have the correct email address.* If you didn’t respond within 15 days, your domain name was subject to deletion.

Sounds crazy, but this is the latest threat from China Internet Network Information Center (CNNIC), the registry for .cn. Its latest move to clean up the .cn domain space is also putting domain name registrars in a unique position, and reversing the usual roles of the registry-registrar relationship.

In the typical gTLD world, registries prefer not to communicate with registrants and depend on registrars to manage all communications. But CNNIC is communicating directly with registrants and, to a large degree, leaving registrars out of the loop.

I talked to Camille Ede, Director of Domain Services at GoDaddy, this afternoon. She confirmed that the registrar received a communication from CNNIC about the new verification campaign on Monday, but some of the company’s customers had already received the confirmation email from CNNIC.

“We didn’t necessarily see it coming but we were prepared for it,” said Ede. “We’re evaluating if we should send further notices to our customers. Our customer service representatives are fully equipped to answer any questions from our customers [about the notices].”

Go Daddy is going to try to track its customers’ response rate to CNNIC’s verification emails. But keep in mind that registrants are confirming with the registry, not the registrar. So it might be difficult for registrars to know how many of their customers are compliant.

When Go Daddy asked its .cn customers to provide new proof of identity earlier this year, only 20% responded. This does not bode well for a high percentage of customers responding to CNNIC’s emails — if they even find their way to their inboxes.

Will CNNIC actually delete domain registrations if the registrant doesn’t verify, or is this just a threat?

“We have to consider the worst case scenario, so we’re definitely looking out for our customers on this one.” Ede said.

Bluff or not, CNNIC’s handling of the entire situation doesn’t instill confidence. And to think, China is about to get two more country code top level domains.

*Yes, I realize VeriSign operates under a thin-whois model, and doesn’t actually retain registrant information. But you get the point.



Fannie Mae Spends $50,000 to Buy Domain Name

Fannie Mae dips into pockets to buy KnowYourOptions.com.

Mortgage backer Fannie Mae has spent $50,000 (of basically your money) to buy the domain name KnowYourOptions.com. The site will no doubt explain your options if you find yourself behind on your mortgage.

The deal tied another domain name — VideoDating.com — for the top spot at domain broker Sedo this week. The seller of VideoDating.com is Steve Newman. He was president of GreatDomains back in the day and also owns Rock.com, a fully developed social network for music fans. Coincidentally, Sedo now owns GreatDomains.

The domain was purchased by someone in Canada. Perhaps they want to jump on the ChatRoulette.com bandwagon, but for more meaningful chat interactions?

Here are other notable sales from Sedo this past week.

.Com
uspo.com 20000 USD
coa.com 16500 USD
keku.com 15000 USD
completecommerce.com 14000 USD
detektei.com 11000 EUR
saraiva.com 10000 USD
pcnames.com 10000 USD
realcopy.com 9500 USD
newrock.com 8400 USD
gaysoulmate.com 8000 USD
xaas.com 7810 USD
relian.com 7500 EUR
koffers.com 7000 EUR
fastapasta.com 6900 USD
nanai.com 5600 USD
santafevacationrentals.com 5280 USD
beq.com 5101 USD
hck.com 5001 USD
shakeria.com 5000 EUR
spotting.com 5000 EUR
1238.com 5000 USD

ccTLDs
vermietung.de 23000 EUR
gezocht.nl 20000 EUR
cafe.de 15000 EUR
equip.me 15000 USD
hfk.de 12000 EUR
weights.co.uk 6610 GBP
americanholidays.co.uk 6500 GBP
seo.es 6000 EUR
ginseng.asia 5400 EUR
tech.tv 5000 USD

Other
gwp.org 9888 USD
medikamente.net 8430 EUR
textbooks.org 6100 USD
universallifeinsurance.org 5200 USD
privatestudentloan.net 5100 USD
kobo.net 5000 USD



UDRP Panelist Rules NameMedia Can Keep Generic Pantaloons.com

NameMedia wins UDRP case brought by Indian retailer.

PantaloonsNameMedia has successfully staved off an attack by Indian clothing retailer Pantaloon Retail for the domain name Pantaloons.com. The retailer is part of Future Group, and owns Pantaloon.com, but not the pural version.

Pantaloons is a generic, albeit somewhat antiquated, clothing term. But it’s still a generic word, the panelist noted.

NameMedia put up a SmartName shop on the domain name, which shows numerous product listings for pantaloons. Interestingly, the panelist questioned this online shop’s validity:

the offering of pantaloons for sale at the website, appears to the Panel to be contrived and there may well be grounds for questioning its validity. Clearly, from the evidence provided, Respondent is not itself offering pantaloons for sale, it is merely providing links to eBay and other sites where such offers are made. However, in the light of the Panel’s conclusions in relation to Respondent’s second proposition, it is unnecessary for the Panel to decide that question.

NameMedia’s actual response in the case isn’t public, but from reading the panelist’s summary of the response, it doesn’t appear that the company actually inferred that it personally sold pantaloons. Instead, it showed that it was using the domain name in a way that didn’t infringe on the complainant’s mark and only used the generic nature of the term.

The panelist ruled that NameMedia had rights or legitimate interests in the domain name.



Demand Media Inks Deal with Tyra Banks for Fashion Site

Demand’s deal with Tyra, and what it says about creating profitable content: you need hub sites.

Demand Media has entered into a partnership with Tyra Banks to create a new digital brand for the beauty and fashion industry.

I expect this to be similar to the company’s deal with Lance Armstrong for LiveStrong.com. Basically, the company created a new branded web site with star power, plugged it into Demand’s content pipeline and social media machine, and started printing money.

Indeed, the press release about the announcement reads:

Demand Media will work with Banks to create a new digital brand that will be inherently social, highly interactive and grounded in delivering content and experiences that respond to real consumer demand. Demand Media will leverage its leading content creation platform, social media tools and application development expertise to aggressively build a unique online destination that will launch later this year. Banks will work exclusively with Demand Media to build and promote her online presence on the new property with entertaining features, educational videos, inspiring stories and helpful applications.

Demand Media has no doubt figured out the content game, and I think it’s necessary to build these centralized, branded web site hubs in order to drive the necessary search and repeat traffic to make it profitable. In other words, taking Demand’s content and putting it on any old domain won’t work, because it won’t get the SEO traffic and repeat visitors. This could be a challenge for people looking to build out large portfolios of domain names.



Verify your .Cn Email Address in 15 Days or You Might Lose your Domain

CNNIC wants you to verify your email address, like, today.

This may sound like a really bad phishing scheme, but it’s coming from a legitimate source.

RRPproxy is reporting that all owners of China’s .cn domain names are receiving an email notice to verify their registrant information. Failure to respond within 15 days may mean your domain name is processed according to “relevant provisions of the Registry”, which RRPproxy says means the domain name could be deleted.

.Cn registry CNNIC is apparently directly emailing .cn domain name owners according to the email address provided at for whois. So if you have an invalid email address, you won’t be able to verify and you could lose your domain.

Here’s the message CNNIC sent to RRPproxy:

According to the policy in Article 28th of “China Internet Domain Name Regulations” the applicant for a .CN domain name shall submit true, accurate and complete domain name registration information and sign a registrant agreement with the domain name registrar. Upon completion of domain name registration, the applicant for a .CN domain name become a registered domain name holder (registrant).

Domain name holder’s true, accurate and complete domain name registration information is a certificate of rights for domain name transfer and information change. In order to protect the rights of the registrant of being domain name holder, CNNIC is requiring all domain name holders to confirm the registration information via the new launched online system of CNNIC. The notification email will be sent directly to the registrants.

This move is similar to photo ID requirements for new registrations required earlier this year, and banning foreign registrars from registering domains, and was announced in a similarly haphazard manner (read: without notice).


« Previous PageNext Page »


TOP