Watch Out for Fake Comments Suggesting Particular Domain Names

When is advice not advice?

So I’m running through the latest comments on Domain Name Wire when I see this comment from “Simon”:

I just saw domain.TV for sale on Sedo for $10,000. I really want that domain, but am unsure as to the true value (price seems high by at least $5K). Any advice out there?

Followed shortly by this reply from “Neely”:

don’t know what the value of domain.tv is; however, i believe the .tv domains will be the second most valuable extension (behind .com) within a few years time. .net & .org will follow .com and .tv…watch.

bahamas.tv sold today on sedo for $10,000. domain.tv is brandable (don’t know what you’re going to use it for) and singular (no “s”), so I’d say if you could make money using the domain, then it might be worth the $10,000 asking price. that being said, if you’re just a domain investor, I’m not sure you’d want to pay that much…only pay high prices if you’re an end user and the domain will help you make money relatively quickly. hope this feedback is helpful:)

And then another comment from “Neely”:

Hey Simon,

I just looked at your “cheeseburger.tv” domain on sedo…it’s priced at $1,000, not $10,000…BIG DIFFERENCE! I say buy it.

Is Neely being helpful? Not really. Neely is Simon and is trying to pump his own domain name. Then Neely makes another comment on another post:

I’ve been watching another “beach” domain on Sedo (domain.com). The seller was asking $50,000 just six months ago and now it’s priced at $2,000. I tempted to buy it as a long term investment, but can’t seem to pull the trigger (not many google searches for “keywords”). Any advice out there?

Sure, I’ve got some advice for you: get lost.

Further Reading:

  1. VeriSign Gets Patent for Suggesting Alternative Domain Names


Comments

  1. Ted
    June 15th, 2010 | 1:12 pm

    Methinks you could possibly just be a bit paranoid. What if those posts were legit?

    I looked up chXXXXXXXXXX.tv from the first post and it’s hosted at Dynadot.

    The second domain you referenced, BeXXXXXXXXX.com is hosted at Godaddy and it has Private Registration in the Whois database.

    It has been my experience that when someone is indeed pumping multiple domains, the domains in question are almost always hosted with the same registrar and the registration is typically the same (open or private).

    Just my two cents.

  2. June 15th, 2010 | 1:14 pm

    @ Ted – well, since all of those posts came from you, I hope you’;; take my advice.

  3. Frank
    June 15th, 2010 | 1:43 pm

    @Andrew,

    Why not require registration to post commetns? It’ll weed out the riff-raff.

  4. June 15th, 2010 | 1:44 pm

    Congrats, Andrew, for the due diligence. I’ve been noticing comments slipping through other blogs featured on Domaining that just don’t seem right.

    BTW, Ted – it all seems to add up to me.

  5. June 15th, 2010 | 2:17 pm

    Ah, the joys of user generated content.

  6. June 15th, 2010 | 2:21 pm

    … and the value of IP address logs :)

  7. jon
    June 15th, 2010 | 2:25 pm

    I see it all the time at domain forums, someone who has invested in for example, green domains, 3D domains, etc… keeps going on and on about the value of this kind of domains.

    They are either misleading on purpose or fools who are lying to themselves and spreading their foolishness.

  8. Justin Allen
    June 15th, 2010 | 3:14 pm

    Its always amusing when a person pretends to be multiple people, without considering the fact that the admin clearly sees their IP addy. Silly rabbits.

  9. Domainer
    June 15th, 2010 | 3:29 pm

    .mobi will overtake .com by 2012.

  10. Ms Domainer
    June 15th, 2010 | 4:20 pm

    *

    @Domainer:

    lol

    *

  11. Barry Lebovitz
    June 15th, 2010 | 5:44 pm

    Guys, I saw this domain on sedo. mysapce.tel Looks like a really heavy traffic domain. I’ve been using .tel for like 10 years, so I can verify it is a good buy.

    @domainer

    completely agree .mobi is where to be right now, phone domains guys C’MON!

  12. jontey
    June 15th, 2010 | 6:16 pm

    @frank,

    Why not start blogging again?

    Too much to lose hey?

  13. June 16th, 2010 | 6:09 am

    What a looser, same guys make bids through sedo and then dont pay(I was a recent victim).
    He is trying to take advantage the recent .tv hype(for domainers circle) by scamming readers.

  14. June 16th, 2010 | 6:40 am

    well if Domain.TV is worth $10k then Domainer.TV must be worth a ton more, haha.

    Yeah, I picked up the Domainer name just months ago. Oh BTW Nelly, I got offered $20k for Domainer.TV so Domain.TV MUST be worth $30k cause its 2 letters less :-p (dont hate Andrew, am not the real Nelly or Smelly)…Well, smelly maybe, but thats cause I am in Philippines at the moment and its hot as hell…

  15. Joel
    June 16th, 2010 | 8:47 am

    Post his IP Address so we can all ban him from sites & blogs.

    Although he is most likely using a proxy and is from India.

  16. June 16th, 2010 | 11:25 am

    @Frank

    Good mention about requiring registration. Craig’s List would be much better if they took the same action. You have to be careful out there. Registration will definitely clean up the posting system.

    However, the above posts are crafted better than what I’ve seen in the past. Beach.tv would be a cool acquisition. Hollister may pick up that domain.

    Jason

  17. June 16th, 2010 | 11:33 am

    Will .mobi regain its value again? Newspapers keep knocking down the extension, but Sedo just moved roulette.mobi for a nice sum.

    I have a dozen .mobi on an exact tourist location, one on a popular service and another on a landmark. If I owned the .com version of my .mobi domain collection, I would be in a good situation. All six .mobi names are definitely good.

    I stopped investing in .mobi and .us because they’re impossible for me to move. I’m feeling like .net is also giving me problems, as well.

    Cool article.

    Jason

  18. June 16th, 2010 | 1:16 pm

    @Joel,

    I agree that we all should block such person from our blogs but please don’t simply say that he is from India with having any confirmation.

    I am myself from India & is really proud of it. It just shows that you have gross misconceptions both about our country & its people.

    Just like anybody getting up & saying americans are arrogant & british very high and mighty though I very well know this is not the case. Some of my best friends are from US and are real cool.

    Also if somebody from any country do something wrong doesn’t make the whole country irresponsible.

    Hope you agree,

    Sidharth

Leave a reply


Your comment will be deleted if: you use an invalid email address, you use a URL shortener for your web site link, your website link goes to a parked domain name, or your "name" is an advertisement keyword.


TOP