Verizon Files Another Cybersquatting Lawsuit

Verizon files cybersquatting lawsuit for Verizon.com typos.

Verizon is suing 2Cool Guys.LLC (sic), Warren Weitzman, Arnold Trebach, and several John Does for trademark infringement.

In the lawsuit, Verizon alleges that the defendants registered domain names that infringe on Verizon’s trademarks and set up various companies to hide their activities. It alleges that the parties use Lead Networks Private Domains Limited as their registrar, which allegedly works with cybersquatters to hide their identities. (ICANN is currently trying to de-accredit Lead Networks.)

Among the potentially infringing domain names listed in the case are varizon.com, vierzon.com, and virazon.com.

Verizon is seeking damages of $100,000 per domain under the anti-cybersquatting statute, along with:

-Any profits earned by the defendants from using the domains as pay-per-click web sites
-Attorney’s fees
-Defendants to take corrective advertising to the extent necessary to correct any consumer confusion or misperceptions resulting from Defendants’ alleged unlawful acts

A copy of the lawsuit is available here (pdf).

Further Reading:

  1. Two Defendants Respond to Verizon Cybersquatting Lawsuit
  2. Kohler Files Cybersquatting Lawsuit Against Repeat Offenders
  3. Above.com In Settlement Talks with Verizon

Tags: ,


Comments

  1. October 19th, 2009 | 11:12 am

    Warren’s defense is simple. He should counter sue on the grounds that Verizon is placing ads on misspellings of his domains. I forget the case but a company who was sued by verizon did just this and verizon was forced to settle out of court for no money.

  2. October 19th, 2009 | 11:13 am

    Verizon Files Another Cybersquatting Lawsuit – http://tinyurl.com/yf32dtp

  3. October 19th, 2009 | 11:16 am

    lackey – that was navigation catalyst, I believe

  4. October 19th, 2009 | 3:43 pm

    Verizon Files Another Cybersquatting Lawsuit http://ff.im/-a8wtj

  5. Cartoonz
    October 19th, 2009 | 6:23 pm

    “Among the potentially infringing domain names listed in the case are varizon.com, vierzon.com, and virazon.com.”

    Interesting… VErison themselves own 2 of those 3 and the other one? Registered this June to some completely unrelated party.

    WTF?

  6. Cartoonz
    October 19th, 2009 | 6:24 pm

    err… “Verizon”… lol, I guess it is an easy misspell

  7. February 8th, 2010 | 10:40 am

    [...] communications company filed the complaint in October, alleging that the defendants parked typos of its popular Verizon trademark in order to [...]

Leave a reply


Your comment will be deleted if: you use an invalid email address, you use a URL shortener for your web site link, your website link goes to a parked domain name, or your "name" is an advertisement keyword.


TOP