Dispute Resolution: Sandra Bullock, DKB.com, and More

A run down of recent UDRP decisions and case filings.

SandraBullock.com: Sandra Bullock has won her case for the domain name SandraBullock.com.

DKB.com: Hmm. Deutsche Kreditbank AG has filed a case with World Intellectual Property organization to get the domain name DKB.com. The domain was registered back in 1996 and DKB Data Services, Inc has owned the domain since at least 2001 (the earliest available whois record). Unless something crops up in the case that’s not evident, can you say “reverse domain name hijacking”?

Mewa.com: a European textile company failed in its attempt to get the domain mewa.com. The arbitrator ruled the domain wasn’t registered in bad faith.

Nazdaq.com: The Nasdaq has picked up Nazdaq.com. The respondent tried to play games and changed the whois after the complaint was filed.

GapGeneration.com: The Gap wants the domain, but “gap generation” is a common term (as is generation gap). Name Secure has taken it upon itself to show ads for The Gap on its “coming soon” page.

Further Reading:

  1. Sandra Bullock Fights for Her Domain Name
  2. Not-So-Uniform Domain Dispute Resolution Policy

Tags: , ,


Comments

  1. August 13th, 2009 | 12:13 pm

    Dispute Resolution: Sandra Bullock, DKB.com, and More – http://tinyurl.com/nz5gjc

  2. August 15th, 2009 | 12:02 pm

    Domain Name Wire » News » Dispute Resolution: Sandra Bullock, DKB ……

    [Source: Domain Name Wire] quoted: The domain was registered back in 1996 and DKB Data Services, Inc has owned the domain since at least 2001 (the earliest available whois record). Unless something crops up in the case that’s not evident, can you…

  3. October 8th, 2009 | 10:12 am

    [...] shocked by this decision. When I first wrote about the filing, I wrote: Deutsche Kreditbank AG has filed a case with World Intellectual Property organization to [...]

Leave a reply


Your comment will be deleted if: you use an invalid email address, you use a URL shortener for your web site link, your website link goes to a parked domain name, or your "name" is an advertisement keyword.


TOP