Fleos.com Is Open for Fleecing

Domain name appraisal scam moves to a new domain name.

I’m getting tired of writing these articles. But every time I do, a number of people searching for this stumble upon it, so I figure it saves some people from falling for the scam.

The latest incarnation of the domain name appraisal has moved to a new domain name – Fleos.com.

A scammer sends and email to you offering to buy your domain name for a percentage of the appraisal price. He explains that they accept appraisals from Sedo (a well known and reputable appraisal provider) and a no-name service (in this case Fleos.com). The no-name service costs less, so people that receive the email buy an appraisal from it. The no-name service is actually owned of the scammer, who has no intention of buying your domain name.

Previous web sites used in the scam include Pozde.com, NameOrange.com, TropicalNames.com, and FlyAppraisals.com.

A copy of the scam e-mail is below:

from Kevin Hill 2kevinhill@gmail.com
subject Offer for CARGRANTS.COM

We are interested to buy your domain name CARGRANTS.COM and offer to buy it from you for 80% of the appraised market value.

As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies:

- fleos.com
- sedo.com

If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us.

As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name.

We appreciate your business,

Yours truly,

Kevin Hill

  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Yahoo! Buzz

Related posts:

  1. Domain Appraisal Scam Migrates to TropicalNames.com
  2. Domain Name Appraisal Scam Now at NameOrange.com
  3. Domain Name Scam Moves Web Site Again

Tags: ,


Comments

  1. July 29th, 2009 | 12:36 pm

    Just got one this morning from guess who? Kevin Hill.
    Went directly to google fleos.com. Thanks for your vigilance.

  2. July 29th, 2009 | 1:17 pm

    Just got one of these scam e-mails this morning. Thanks for confirming my suspicions.

  3. D
    July 29th, 2009 | 1:32 pm

    Well they probably keep finding enough idiots to keep this scam running

  4. Bo
    July 29th, 2009 | 1:37 pm

    Got one this morning. Went directly to delete.

  5. VAH
    July 29th, 2009 | 2:26 pm

    Thanks for making the leg work on discovering the legitimacy of these f***ers easy. WE ALL APPRECIATE YOUR EFFORT TO WRITE THESE REDUNDANT ARTICLES. Thanks again!

  6. July 29th, 2009 | 2:51 pm

    [...] you get an email from Kevin Hill offering to buy a domain name that you own, Andrew says stay away. TAGS: Fleos.com, Kevin Hill, Scams « Competitive Intelligence: A Case Study Related [...]

  7. July 29th, 2009 | 2:52 pm

    Steven Harris email sharrisgo@gmail.com just came in about an hour ago as well. I wrote about this this morning as well and have had lots of people stop by who Googled the email address etc.

  8. July 29th, 2009 | 3:04 pm

    [...] Fleos.com & Kevin Hill: Stay Away Jul.29, 2009 in Online money If you get an email from Kevin Hill offering to buy a domain name that you own, Andrew says stay away. [...]

  9. Martin Wallace
    July 29th, 2009 | 3:52 pm

    Email exactly as above recieved, but this time from Mark Evans

    Thanks for the article, I thought it might be suspicious – and you confirmed my fears.

  10. Nic
    July 29th, 2009 | 5:44 pm

    And “flyrating.com”.

    Eg:

    Dear Sir or Madam,

    We are interested to buy your domain name XXXXXXXX.com and offer to buy it from you for 65% of the appraised market value.

    As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies:

    - flyrating.com
    - sedo.com

    If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us.

    As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use Paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow.com for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name.

    We appreciate your business,

    Yours truly,

    Mike Lopez

  11. July 29th, 2009 | 5:52 pm

    Note the space in “sed o.com”. Helps make sure the link won’t work.

    Evil.

  12. July 29th, 2009 | 6:14 pm

    @ Jorge – that’s actually my doing. Fixing it now.

  13. Max
    July 29th, 2009 | 7:22 pm

    Many thanks! I recieved a email from Kevin Hill today…..fortunately I found your article while searching Fleos.com on Google…..otherwise I would have fallen for the scam!
    Max

  14. NLP
    July 29th, 2009 | 8:49 pm

    Thanks for having this article available online. We received an email today from Steven Harris with the identical email offer. Thought it looked suspicious and was happy to be able to confirm.

  15. Keith
    July 30th, 2009 | 4:02 am

    Yup we got one. Text exactly as above from “Steven Harris”

    I have replied to “Mr Harris” :-)

    Thank’s for your time and valued advice.

  16. Edser
    July 30th, 2009 | 8:44 am

    Good work, thanks for the tip off. Has anyone starting beating or shooting these people? I’m all for human rights but would turn a blind eye if scammers and spammers we’re hunting down mercilessly :-)

  17. July 30th, 2009 | 11:32 am

    Yes, thanks for the advise, I just got one under the name Brian Harris. The same contents.

  18. July 30th, 2009 | 5:08 pm

    got one yesterday from Kevin Hill… thanks for your article found via google. regards

  19. Hart
    July 31st, 2009 | 2:39 am

    I receive this email,he change his email and name i guest.

    Mark Evans”

    We are interested to buy your domain name DAUU.COM and offer to buy
    it from you for 80% of the appraised market value.

    As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following
    leading appraisal companies:

    - fleos.com
    - sedo.com

    If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us.

    As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our
    payment (we use paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow for
    amounts above $2,000) as well as
    further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name.

    We appreciate your business,

    Yours truly,

    Mark Evans

  20. Lonsdale Pendle
    July 31st, 2009 | 12:12 pm

    Just got the scam email from markevans02@gmail.com.
    He was not clever: I recognized the domain name fleos.com. It was on a drop list only a few weeks ago, and I keep notes of all the 5 letter soundable coms that I see on drop lists!
    Interestingly, the domain he says he wants is a good one with 1M+ Google references.

    Now I am more concerned because I have WHOIS privacy on this domain. How did he get my email address?

  21. July 31st, 2009 | 9:49 pm

    @ Lonsdale – often times they get an old whois list. So if you didn’t have privacy back in the day that’s how they emailed you. Otherwise, your privacy service probably forwards emails to you.

  22. August 10th, 2009 | 9:51 am

    [...] domain name appraisal scam seems to be mutating too quickly to follow, which means it may be time to create a web site [...]

  23. August 10th, 2009 | 6:22 pm

    They are using old whois data and the url, names and email addies are changing..
    Just rec’d one from B. Phillips, Resale Domain. (resaledomain@gmail.com) It offers 3 urls to choose from:

    sedo.com
    pddomains.com
    accuratedomains.com

  24. tim heller
    August 10th, 2009 | 11:59 pm

    I suggest for everyone to purchase 10 appraisals and have your creditcard company make a chargeback, that scam from Malaysia or whatever will be over soon after those chargeback costs.

  25. August 11th, 2009 | 9:16 am

    Tim – at least in early incarnations they just used PayPal. Withdraw the money before PayPal catches on.

  26. November 19th, 2009 | 7:03 pm

    burnstein@domainsecondhand.com
    to me

    show details Nov 18 (1 day ago)

    Hello,

    Our company invests in Internet projects and domain names. What is your
    price for the domain name?

    If you have other domains for sale feel free to send your list.
    I received an e-mail from someone yesterday…which I have posted below. Has anyone heard of this guy? Is this a scam.

    burnstein@domainsecondhand.com
    to me

    show details Nov 18 (1 day ago)

    Hello,

    Our company invests in Internet projects and domain names. What is your
    price for the domain name?

    If you have other domains for sale feel free to send your list.

    Looking forward to do business with you.

    Regards,

    Jeffrey Burnstein

    CEO

    Second Hand Domain & Web Site Investing & Reselling

  27. Tim
    November 20th, 2009 | 9:49 am

    Hi Becky, I just got that today. I was wondering the same thing.

  28. Bill
    November 20th, 2009 | 7:11 pm

    Jeffrey Burnstein will offer to buy your domain name at a good price. He will then state that you must get it manually appraised, and provide a link to his blog. The blog promotes an appraisal company which is owned by him.

Leave a reply


TOP