Company Goes After Fired.com in UDRP

Here’s a UDRP case that will get domainers “fired” up.

A company that filed for a trademark on the term “fired” in 2004 has filed a UDRP against the owner of Fired.com to try to get the domain name. The case commenced yesterday at National Arbitration Forum.

Domain Name Wire has learned that World2Work Corporation is the complainant in the case brought against Kurt Ruess. World2Work operates the Fired.tv domain. Reuss runs Contractors.com.

World2Work.com filed for the trademark on “Fired” for the class “Human resources management, and employment hiring, recruiting, placement, staffing and career networking services” on February 2, 2004. It was registered July 24, 2007. In the patent filing the company claimed a first use in commerce date of September 12, 2004.

Fired.com was originally registered in 1999. But even if the domain had been registered after the trademark was filed, this would seem like a gross overreaching of a generic trademark term.

It’s difficult to find information about World2Work Corporation through a Google search. The trademark filing lists a Chicago address and phone number. A call to the phone number went to a generic voicemail recording. The lawyer that filed the original trademark is no longer at the law firm that filed the trademark.

Related posts:

  1. World2Work Releases Statement About Fired.com UDRP Case
  2. Arbitrator: Fired.com Complainant “Sorely Misguided”
  3. 2008 Domain Dunce Awards: Fired.com

Tags: ,


Comments

  1. namegeek
    July 23rd, 2008 | 6:01 pm

    >>It’s difficult to find information about World2Work Corporation

    Check http://www.fired.tv/contact.html

  2. Andrew
    July 23rd, 2008 | 6:06 pm

    I’ll give that a shot. Same city, same trademark, but he doesn’t have an (r) next to it, which would indicate a registered trademark.

  3. July 23rd, 2008 | 7:41 pm

    It’s time to trademark my domains.

    Some company will apply for trademarks and use the UDRP to get it from you.

  4. Andrew
    July 24th, 2008 | 2:43 pm

    @namegeek - it is the same company. I talked to their attorney this morning and they should get a statement to me today or tomorrow.

  5. July 24th, 2008 | 9:10 pm

    So what’s the basis for the complaint?

    There are a lot of cases that hold that the domain name was not registered and used in faith if the trademark did not exist at the time of the domain registration.

  6. July 25th, 2008 | 1:52 pm

    [...] and Search Tools Integrate New Google DataParked Changes Dashboard Graph, Improves UsabilityCompany Goes After Fired.com in UDRPMoniker Sends Silent Auctions to SnapNamesBido.com Sells Dickinson for $12,000Floyd Mayweather [...]

  7. August 21st, 2008 | 8:20 pm

    [...] Corporation and founder Scott R. Sargis, which runs the web site Fired.tv, filed a UDRP with National Arbitration Forum to get the domain name Fired.com. This is despite not registering [...]

Leave a reply


TOP