Hey Rexanne, I’m on to you!

A humorous spate of domain inquiries.

Rexanne, did you file for a name change today?

At 8:18 AM this morning I received an email from Rexanne Baird inquiring about one of my domain names:

Hello,

The reason I am contacting you is my interest in buying your website – ——-.com . If you are interested, could you please give me your phone number, so I can call you, or just write me back.
I have cash to buy today!

Thank you and looking forward to hearing from you

Interestingly, the “from” address on the email was info@att.com, which tipped off my suspicion (not to mention the “cash today” line). The “reply to” address was a gmail account. Also suspicious was that, instead of just being addressed to my e-mail, the to line had my domain name in it.

I Googled for Rexanne Baird and the name came back empty. And it’s no wonder. Apparently, between 8:18 AM this morning and 9:12AM, Rexanne got married and changed her last name to Winton. Here’s the next e-mail I received, this time from Rexanne Winton, again with separate from and reply-to addresses:

Hello,

I am interested in purchasing your web site ——-.com . If you would like to sell it send me your phone number to call you.
I have cash to buy today!

Thank you

Looks familiar, doesn’t it? The subject lines on the e-mails changed slightly, too.

Rexanne, if you got married this morning you really should be taking a break from buying domain names!

But my hats off to you, whomever you are, for coming up with a system to e-mail with these clever alterations.

And I will sell these domains to you. Just don’t ask me to wire some money to Nigeria.

[I'm taking one for the team here and responded with my phone number. I'll let you know how that conversation goes.]

No related posts.


Comments

  1. Andrew
    June 5th, 2008 | 3:16 pm

    Holy cow! Rexanne also got a sex change today! I just got similar emails from Denton Todd and Dorcas Emrick too!

  2. June 5th, 2008 | 3:17 pm

    I hope the DEEP voice doesn’t scare you Andrew… lol

    I think in this case, would be a good time to have a prepaid cell phone laying around. With Whois, if she/he really wanted to talk they would of dialed imo.

  3. June 5th, 2008 | 3:22 pm

    These email blasts go out from time to time. Same content but different names. I’m not sure what the scam is.

    Keep us posted.

  4. Andrew
    June 5th, 2008 | 3:31 pm

    It may not be a scam…may be someone just looking for people who will sell cheap.

    That said, I won’t be accepting PayPal for any domains they want to buy :)

  5. Andrew
    June 5th, 2008 | 3:37 pm

    This is kind of funny. Someone just landed on this article who searched google for “The reason I am contacting you is my interest in buying your website”. Google link.

  6. June 5th, 2008 | 4:06 pm

    Do you think it might be the same old “appraisal scam” where you pay some appraiser they “choose”?

    John
    http://unplain.com

  7. Andrew
    June 5th, 2008 | 4:06 pm

    @ John – could be, I’ll let you know

  8. June 5th, 2008 | 4:08 pm

    or… Rexanne’s real name could be “rectum anne”, you know, full of crap. lol

  9. Domainer
    June 5th, 2008 | 4:27 pm

    They are using DRT perhaps?

  10. Domainer
    June 5th, 2008 | 4:27 pm

    its a domainer iam sure as well.

  11. June 5th, 2008 | 4:31 pm

    If it is a “Domainer” then he must be a rookie!

  12. June 5th, 2008 | 4:41 pm

    i got the exact same email this morning from Tabby Braun .

  13. Andrew
    June 5th, 2008 | 4:41 pm

    @ Domainer – I thought about DRT, but I’ve never used its mass offer system so I’m not sure. I’m up to 5 emails from whomever it is now.

  14. Domainer
    June 5th, 2008 | 5:09 pm

    Did you check the ip in the header as to where the mail is coming from?

  15. June 5th, 2008 | 5:31 pm

    [...] aol email address, however the name/email address is different for others like Michael and Andrew, so just a heads up in case you get the same. addthis_url = [...]

  16. Domainer
    June 5th, 2008 | 5:50 pm

    Contact DRT, maybe they can trace it back to the correct drt license #. DRT can find them!

  17. Andrew
    June 5th, 2008 | 6:23 pm

    I’m up to 8 for the day…all with different names.

  18. June 5th, 2008 | 8:32 pm

    [...] My first thought was why in the world do they want to buy this domain? It’s old, outdated, and the comments have been spammed to hell so it hardly even ranks in Google. Yes, it’s a site I totally neglected because a) I tossed it up in 20 minutes and b) it has only made $224 in Google Adsense in the 2.5 years it’s been up. I was planning on emailing them back just out of curiosity, but then I saw this post pop up in my news reader. Looks like I’m not the only one. [...]

  19. June 5th, 2008 | 11:16 pm

    I got 5 of these today. Wonder whats the plan once they get your phone number.

  20. Andrew
    June 6th, 2008 | 12:57 am

    @ Michael – I still haven’t received a phone call (I gave them the number that’s in whois) nor an email response to my “sure, how much are you willing to pay” email.

  21. Andrew
    June 6th, 2008 | 12:57 am

    One thought is they are mining for domains with invalid email addresses so they can report them to the registrar…but that strategy for getting domains deleted isn’t worthwhile now that almost all registrars simply “suspend” domains rather than cancel them for invalid whois.

  22. June 6th, 2008 | 10:45 am

    If I could just take your sort code sir….

    http://www.e4.com/fonejacker/soundboard-george.html

  23. Domainer
    June 6th, 2008 | 6:56 pm

    Drt…yawn

  24. observer
    June 6th, 2008 | 8:36 pm

    Their purpose might be money-laundering. People finally get the offer they were looking for and will sell the domain name. The money will be transferred from a phishing account. If you are unlucky they send you a cheque that is issued for a far higher amount than agreed upon. Obviuously you will be asked to wire the difference via western union to some account. Only a guess ;-)

  25. June 8th, 2008 | 6:33 pm

    [...] Hey Rexanne, I’m on to you! http://domainnamewire.com/2008/06/05/hey-rexanne-im-on-to-you/ [...]

  26. June 9th, 2008 | 4:47 am

    I used to respond to these. . . never got a reply. . . . I call bunk email address fishing.

  27. same
    June 13th, 2008 | 6:47 pm

    “Stewart Losey” sent me an exact copy of this email.. same format. :D

  28. September 24th, 2008 | 6:55 pm

    Interesting. I just got an email from “Stewart Losey” wanting to buy ad space on my site.

    While I would love to believe this is legit, I would expect a sincere party to at least give me a contact name.

    original email:
    “Hello,

    I would like to buy advertising spot on your website eccentric-light.com. Could you please send me the flat month price?

    Regards”

Leave a reply


Your comment will be deleted if: you use an invalid email address, you use a URL shortener for your web site link, your website link goes to a parked domain name, or your "name" is an advertisement keyword.


TOP