New Zealand domain scammer at it again

According to PCWorld, Blair Rafferty has ressurected his brother’s domain name scam.

Blair Rafferty’s brother Chesley Rafferty ran a scam that sent notices to domain name owners that looked like invoices. Chesley’s business partner in crime, Bradley Norrish, declared bankruptcy after facing a $1M+ legal judgement. When Norrish declared bankruptcy he showed lack of remorse for his actions, even suggesting he might return to the game.

Now an article in PCWorld suggests that Chesley’s brother has resurrected the scam and is sending out registration statements that look like invoices. The statements offer to register another version of the owner’s domain for $225 for two years plus a free gift. PCWorld investigated and found that the company is using the same address as it did during its previous scam. Blair Rafferty is listed as the registered agent for the company.

If the allegations are true, hopefully the New Zealand legal system can find a way to shut these guys down for good. Apparently they think they’re above the law.

Further Reading:

  1. Domain scammer declares bankruptcy
  2. Canada sentences domain name scammer
  3. Nailing an eBay domain name scammer


Comments

  1. June 28th, 2010 | 7:26 am

    [...] I’ve seen in Google, there are a number of companies that send similar letters in the mail. Andrew has an article about one, PC World discusses an email-based domain renewal scam, and even CatholicWeb.com has [...]

Leave a reply


Your comment will be deleted if: you use an invalid email address, you use a URL shortener for your web site link, your website link goes to a parked domain name, or your "name" is an advertisement keyword.


TOP